What are Vital Records?
Birth certificates for persons born in the State of Arizona - This is a certified copy on certified paper with an embossed seal.
Death certificates for persons who died in the State of Arizona - This is a certified copy on certified paper with an embossed seal.
Why is it needed?
Birth Certificates are needed for:
- personal keepsake/family records
- school registration
- organized sports
- employment requirements
- driver’s license
- passports and travel
- income tax matters
Death certificates are needed for:
- Personal records, keepsake
- Estate matters
- Personal business matters
Who is eligible?
Arizona is a "closed record" state. This means that vital records are not public record. Arizona law restricts the public’s access to vital records as follows to protect the confidentiality rights of our citizens. Arizona Administrative Code R9-19-403 specifies that only the following may receive a certified copy of a birth certificate:
- Registrant, Mother, Father (if named on the birth certificate) The application for the birth record requires a valid U.S. government issued picture I.D. showing applicant's signature or notarized signature.
- Spouse, grandparent, brother, sister, guardian, attorney, person who can prove legal interest. The application must include supporting documentation to prove legal interest and a valid U.S. government issued picture I.D. showing applicant's signature or notarized signature.
Birth Certificate Application
Only persons 18 years of age or older may obtain a certified copy of a death certificate.
Arizona is a "closed record" state. This means that vital records are not public record. Arizona law restricts access to vital records to protect the confidentiality rights of our citizens. Arizona Administrative Code R9-19-405 specifies that only the following persons may receive a certified copy of a death certificate:
By law (ARS36-301 ) "Family Member" means:
- natural or adopted offspring
- father or mother
- grandchild to any degree
- aunt or uncle
- first or second cousin
- person who can prove legal interest
Funeral Homes may order death certificates for spouse or immediate family members, for up to one year from date of death.
Anyone other than an immediate family member who wants to get a death certificate must apply through the Vital Records Office, with proper documentation.
Death Certificate Application
Is there a cost?
The fee is $20.00 per certificate for birth or death certificates. Acceptable payment methods are: credit/debit cards, cash, cashier's checks, money orders, personal checks; made payable to Yavapai County Community Health Services. All Credit/Debit cards will have a minimum fee of $1.50, up to 2.39% of the total.
What do I do with the application now?
You can mail your application to: YCCHS, Attn Vital Records, 1090 Commerce Dr, Prescott, AZ 86305 or you can drop it off in one of the Vital Records lock boxes at any of our three locations.
The application must include supporting documentation to prove legal interest and a valid U.S. government issued picture I.D. showing applicant’s signature or notarized signature. Contact us at 928-771-3125 for acceptable forms of proof of interest. We accept credit cards, cash, checks, money orders and cashier checks. Please do not send cash in the mail.
What are the goals of the program?
Vital Records provides a state service at a county level. Advantages for Yavapai County residents and others include:
- efficient public service
- secure drop off boxes at all YCCHS offices
- faster processing time
What has the program achieved?
Vital Records provides birth and death certificates. This helps families to plan vacations, enroll children in school or apply for after-school jobs or play sports.
Death certificates are needed when handling estate matters after someone has died.
Having this service available locally, and by mail, reduces travel time and expense. It is a convenient public service for residents born in Arizona and for the family members of those who have died in Arizona.
Where are the services for the Vital Records Office available?
Vital Records is located at 1090 Commerce Drive Prescott.
Vital Records is a “Mail Order-only Facility." Birth and Death Certificates are processed within 7 – 10 days.
Vital Records lock boxes and application forms for birth certificates are available at the following locations:
County Administration Building Lobby
10 S. Sixth Street
Yavapai County Community Health Services
1090 Commerce Drive
Yavapai County Community Health Services
3212 N. Windsong Drive
How do I get more information?
Call (928) 771-3125 Monday – Thursday, 8:00 am to 4:00 pm.
Note: If you are calling from outside the Prescott area, please visit the Yavapai County Switchboard page for a listing of local and toll-free phone numbers you may use. If you choose to email your questions to Vital Records (firstname.lastname@example.org), please put “Birth Certificate” or “Death Certificate” into the subject line of your email.